Energy waste that annoys me – Don’t fill up the kettle!

This post discusses a simple way to save energy, by only boiling the amount water you need to make your tea or coffee.

 

Making a tea… it’s a national institution, but how much energy does it take?

Today I did a quick calculation on the energy required to boil water, to check out just how significant it is. So here we are

My kettle takes 2 litres of water

The Specific Heat Capacity of water is 4.184j/g/k

Water from my tap is about 15C

 

So, 1 fill of the kettle takes

2 x 4.184 x 3600 x 1000 x 85 =  200Wh

To test this I used a electricity meter on the kettle, and found that I was in the right ball park, but the kettle seems to have losses of about 10%, so the actual consumption was 220Wh

 

meter

220Wh is equivalent to leaving a 60W bulb switched on for 3 hours 40 minutes, but consumed in about 6 minutes.

So am I suggesting we stop drinking tea (or coffee)… no, I do love my coffee. Well lets consider this. My coffee mug can hold 250ml of coffee, slightly less if you allow for the milk. So why boil 2 litres of water if I need 1/8th that amount. Well exactly…

So next time you are making tea… just fill the kettle enough for the amount you are going to use. You could save more than 3 hours worth of lighting, along with it being faster… I like faster coffee.

 

 

BTW, isn’t funny that despite the fact that I’m a coffee drinker, I still talk about tea in this post constantly. It just seems to fit better… Comments on that are also welcome.

 

Contribute a post to this blog

https://greennav.wordpress.com/contribute/

3 Responses to Energy waste that annoys me – Don’t fill up the kettle!

  1. Yvette Kelly says:

    I am usually at home alone during the day and what I do is boil the kettle in the mornings and then fill up a flask for the rest of the day till the kids come home.And yes I drink a lot of coffee so my flask is big but keeps me going the whole day and the water remains hot.

  2. On Sunday nights Erin Jaimes hosts a blues jam where anyone from Alan Haynes to Gary
    Clark, Jr. Local country clubs are offering trivia fun for
    as little as forty dollars per couple. They feature almost nightly drink
    specials and some form of entertainment every night of the week–DJ’s, live music, trivia, you name it.

  3. The players would begin as members of the SCA, going to Phoenix for the Estrella War.
    At the end of the party all of the papers write down who they think was the prohibition agent.
    Cranberry studios developed this sequel while publisher Anaconda brings it to you
    in stores.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

