How a boiler works – boiler efficiency

Most houses are supplied with heat by a boiler, and in Ireland heating your house is the most energy intensive thing you do. So having your boiler operate efficiently is really worthwhile. This post will give a brief outline on how a boiler works, particularly looking at the main things that effect efficiency.

A boiler operates by burning natural gas, oil, LPG or wood pellet to heat water that circulates through hot water cylinders, radiators, or under-floor systems. Boiler efficiency refers to the ability of the boiler to transfer energy from the fuel supplied to the boiler to the water or thermal oil of the distribution system. Standard boilers are generally quite efficient, though this is largely dependent the boiler being well maintained and set up correctly.

The factors that affect the efficiency of the boiler are dependent on

1. The design of the boiler
2. The burner air/fuel ratio being set up correctly (this is usually something that can be changed)
3. The heat transfer surfaces of the boiler being clean (this means servicing the boiler)
4. The insulation in a boiler being intact, clean and well sealed.

How boilers work

  • The first stage in the operation of a conventional boiler is the fuel supply to the burner (in most domestic boilers this is inside the main casing, but the principle is the same as the diagram I have there). In the case of natural gas this is from the mains gas pipe network. For oil or LPG this is though a pressurised tank or vessel located outside. In the case of a wood pellet boiler the pellet is blown or screwed to the burner

Boiler

  • The fuel is mixed with air and ignited. The correct amount of air is key to ensuring complete combustion. Too much air means that that a lot of oxygen will remain un-combusted in the flue gases. This un-combusted oxygen will reduce the efficiency of the boiler by carrying much of the heat up the chimney with it. Too little air means incomplete combustion releasing carbon monoxide (and soot!). Carbon monoxide is poisonous and so too little air is very serious situation. Also incomplete combustion means that not all the fuel is burned, which is wastful


Air/fuel ratio

(this graph shows the amounts of carbon monoxide (CO), carbon dioxide(CO2), and oxygen (O2) in the flue gases (smoke) of a boiler. If there is too little oxygen, there is CO in the flue gases. If there is too ,much oxygen going in, there will be a lot of oxygen in the flue gases)

So air/fuel mix is the first reason to have your boiler serviced. The service man should adjust the mix to optimise the efficiency of the boiler.


  • The flame from the burner, and the resultant combustion gases escape into the boiler, transferring their heat to the water circulating through the heat exchanger within the boiler. If the heat exchanger within the boiler is dirty, due to rust or soot, it reduces the heat transfer (soot is a good insulator). That is another reason why you should have your boiler serviced regularly. The service man should clean the heat exchanger as part of the job.
  • Boilers distribute heat from around the house using a wet system. In most cases water flows through the heat exchanger in the boiler, absorbing heat from the flam and the combustion gases. This hot water is then circulated around the house to radiators, underfloor heaters and hot water cylinders.

Another efficiency factor at this stage is the temperature you are running your system at. The hotter you run the boiler, the hotter it is trying to make the water that is to circulate around the house. Hotter water improves the response time of the system (the speed it can heat the radiators up at), but reduces the efficiency of the system.


  • The gases of combustion escape from the boiler through the chimney or vent. If the air/fuel ratio is set up correctly, this should be relatively clean. If the vent gas smells this can be a sign of incomplete combustion and the boiler should be serviced immediately. It is also essential that vents and chimneys are not blocked. It an obstacle is placed in the vent, this can lead to back pressure on the boiler, and reduce the efficiency
  • Age of a boiler – following the points made above it should be noted that older boilers are going to be less efficient due to dirt and soot on the heat exchanger (no one can clean them that well) and the air fuel mixer will become looser and so get out of “tune” more regularly.

Boiler controls – this is worthy of a post in itself, and will get one, but in short there are two main points

  • Running your boiler for less time is a good thing. If you don’t have a timer on your boiler, get one. They are very convenient, and they allow you to run your boiler for short periods when you need the heat.
  • Don’t have your boiler switching on and off too often. Like most machines, boilers are less efficient, and not really decided to operate, when they are being switched on and off constantly. If you are going to switch it off, leave it off for at least an hour.

Other topics I plan on covering in this boiler section

If there is one you want me to fast track, let me know


77 Responses to How a boiler works – boiler efficiency

  1. […] – how condensing boilers works Ok… So post assumes you’ve just checked out this post about how a boiler works… then what about these condensing boilers […]

  2. […] most immersion heaters are heated by the main boiler system. A heat exchanger inside the cylinder is piped from the boiler, though is often on a different […]

  3. […] is to add another heat exchanger to the hot water cylinder (it probably already has one for the boiler) or change the cylinder for a system which already has multiple heat exchangers. The control system […]

  4. restaurant jobs akron…

    Congressional staffers have outlined an agreement that would increase US fuel economy standards to 35 miles per gallon by 2020. The Proposal has been approved by the House, including Speaker Nancy Pelosi. If the bill goes through in the Senate, the fue…

  5. Clayton says:

    I am seeking knowledge on how to combine a boiler to a sawdust burning stove. Any feedback would be appreciated. Thank you.
    Clayton

  6. huey prince says:

    i would like to know how a boiler work in detail from comtrol to temperature setting

  7. Tomer says:

    I just got one of these energy efficient boilers and although I didn’t see much difference at first, now that I’ve had it for a few months I can really tell the difference (especially on the bill :P).

  8. M S RAGHURAM says:

    You have explained the working of a boiler in very simple and concise terms so that any one can understand. I only feel if you can introduce the technical terms, it will be very useful.

  9. Of course, what a fantastic web-site in addition informative posts, I will add backlink – bookmark this site? Regards, Reader.

  10. Great post, thanks for the simple breakdown of how a boiler works.

  11. Dalux says:

    who can tell me clear to operate boiler ?

  12. Bev says:

    Great information! What is the optimum temperature and pressure for a gas bioler?

  13. Doug says:

    Of course you can increase the efficiency of your boiler with a tigerloop dearator in the system.

  14. Sinks and Taps…

    How a boiler works – boiler efficiency « GreenNav’s Open Blog…

  15. Hillsboro Air Duct Cleaning…

    […]How a boiler works – boiler efficiency « GreenNav’s Open Blog[…]…

  16. filmy online za darmo…

    […]How a boiler works – boiler efficiency « GreenNav’s Open Blog[…]…

  17. wilmer says:

    hows the ratio of co2 and o2 from the wood fuel boiler? co2 greater than or less than o2?

  18. I’ve been exploring for a bit for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this kind of area . Exploring in Yahoo I at last stumbled upon this web site. Reading this information So i am glad to exhibit that I have an incredibly just right uncanny feeling I found out exactly what I needed. I most certainly will make certain to don?t fail to remember this web site and provides it a look on a constant basis.

  19. ברזי אמבטיה…

    […]How a boiler works – boiler efficiency « GreenNav’s Open Blog[…]…

  20. JRSEOMarketing.com is the greatest inexpensive back-link provider and appearance engine marketing marketing company on the web…

    […]How a boiler works – boiler efficiency « GreenNav’s Open Blog[…]…

  21. discount bathroom centre…

    […]How a boiler works – boiler efficiency « GreenNav’s Open Blog[…]…

  22. heat pumps says:

    heat pumps…

    […]How a boiler works – boiler efficiency « GreenNav’s Open Blog[…]…

  23. Just want to say your article is as astounding.
    The clearness in your post is simply nice and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Well with your permission allow me to grab your feed to keep updated with forthcoming post. Thanks a million and please keep up the rewarding work. Check out my website to get more info about low carb diets, if you like.

  24. Belisi RX says:

    What’s up, this weekend is good in favor of me, as this time i am reading this fantastic educational article here at my residence.

  25. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your
    weblog and in accession capital to assert that I acquire in fact
    enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.
    The Mentalist Season 5 Episode 6 Cherry Picked

  26. Demetrius says:

    Wow, this piece of writing is nice, my younger sister is analyzing these kinds of things, so I am going to let know her.

  27. www.Kiva.org says:

    Fantastic goods from you, man. I have understand your stuff previous to and you’re just too fantastic. I actually like what you have acquired here, really like what you’re saying and
    the way in which you say it. You make it enjoyable
    and you still care for to keep it wise. I can not wait to read much more from you.
    This is really a wonderful website.

  28. Agueda says:

    Hi everybody, here every one is sharing such know-how,
    so it’s pleasant to read this web site, and I used to pay a quick visit this weblog every day.

  29. Jordan says:

    Hi there! I know this is kinda off topic but I was wondering which blog
    platform are you using for this site? I’m getting fed up of WordPress because I’ve had problems with hackers
    and I’m looking at alternatives for another platform. I would be great if you could point me in the direction of a good platform.

  30. araba says:

    This design is incredible! You certainly know how to keep a reader
    entertained. Between your wit and your videos, I
    was almost moved to start my own blog (well, almost..
    .HaHa!) Fantastic job. I really enjoyed what you had to say, and more than that,
    how you presented it. Too cool!

  31. Hi there everybody, here every person is sharing these
    kinds of know-how, therefore it’s fastidious to read this blog, and I used to go to see this website every day.

  32. I’ve learn some excellent stuff here. Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I wonder how a lot attempt you set to create the sort of great informative website.

  33. Hi, I do think this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it 😉 I may come back
    yet again since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to
    change, may you be rich and continue to guide other people.

  34. jackpot 6000 says:

    Valuable information. Lucky me I discovered your website by accident, and I
    am shocked why this accident did not took place earlier!
    I bookmarked it.

  35. I hate slender folks ! At the very least now I realize I
    can consume far more pizza. Yayyy.

  36. Thelma says:

    Ahaa, its nice dialogue on the topic of this piece of writing at this place at
    this weblog, I have read all that, so now me also commenting here.

  37. Great post! We will be linking to this particularly great
    article on our website. Keep up the great writing.

  38. I was recommended this website through my cousin. I am
    now not sure whether this publish is written through him as no one else understand
    such distinctive about my problem. You are incredible!
    Thanks!

  39. acne killer says:

    New research also shows that a significant proportion of women with
    acne killer have a family history of skin cancer.

    A sample of the population, men and women where the skin texture is normal within the scar.

  40. In addition, Mitchell implied that punishing offenders
    might be counterproductive. how to get rid of acne vulgaris or most known as how
    to get rid of acne or zit. This is the most commonly treated skin diseases according to doctors and consumers about the processes involved in medication development.
    Products live with teeth for long time. SplashThe chances are she’s less smitten with the rain.

  41. ning.com says:

    Howdy very nice website!! Man .. Excellent ..
    Superb .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally? I am satisfied to find so many useful information here within the put up, we want work out more strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .

  42. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers and starting a new project in a
    community in the same niche. Your blog provided us useful information to work on.

    You have done a wonderful job!

  43. I just could not depart your web site prior to suggesting that I actually
    loved the standard info a person supply to your visitors?
    Is going to be back ceaselessly to check out new posts

  44. What’s up, its nice post regarding media print, we all be familiar with media is a enormous source of data.

  45. I’m impressed, I must say. Rarely do I come across a blog that’s both
    equally educative and interesting, and without a doubt, you have hit the nail
    on the head. The problem is something not enough people are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I came across this in my search for something regarding this.

  46. Great information. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance (stumbleupon).
    I’ve book-marked it for later!

  47. morozaki.jp says:

    My partner and I stumbled over here different page and thought I
    might check things out. I like what I see so now i am
    following you. Look forward to looking over your web page again.

  48. Troy says:

    Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google,
    and found that it is really informative. I’m going to watch out for brussels.
    I’ll be gratdful if you continue this in future.
    Lotts oof people will be benefited from your writing. Cheers!

  49. Erlinda says:

    I blog often and I really thank you for your content.
    Your article has truly peaked my interest.
    I’m going to bookmark your site and keep checking for new
    details about once a week. I subscribed to your RSS feed as well.

  50. Say you’re a mexican pair, or certainly one of you is Mexican…Is it regarded
    component of regular Mexican society for your man or even the woman to bounce with other Men/Women even if you’re within a
    partnership or married?

  51. Crystal says:

    Ahaa, its nice discussion on the topic of this piece of writing heree at thhis weblog, I
    have read all that, so now me also commenting at thus place.

  52. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew
    of any widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my
    newest twitter updates. I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you
    would have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward
    to your new updates.

  53. lavendar oil says:

    Wow that was strange. I just wrote an really long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyhow, just wanted to say
    excellent blog!

  54. Amazing things here. I am very satisfied to see your article.
    Thank you so much and I am having a look ahead to touch you.
    Will you kindly drop me a e-mail?

  55. Hello there! I could have sworn I’ve visited this
    site before but after looking at a few of the posts I realized it’s new to me.
    Anyways, I’m definitely delighted I discovered it and
    I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

  56. Alexander says:

    Comment Poster is 100% automatic website promotion and backlinks building software designed for companies and individuals that need more targeted links and higher success ratio than any other solution on the market offers. Extraordinary tool utilizes user-defined keywords to find a large number of superior quality, highly targeted image galleries and posts relevant comments with backlinks on autopilot. Compared to similar products that offer only 2-5% success ratio, our cutting-edge links building engine offers the highest value on the market: 80% or even more. visit this link – http://bitly.com/PkozGw

  57. 過ごす says:

    ピーク過ぎてそうやしな。3年契約を望んでること自体怖いわw

    韓国の新大統領、黒田福美に似てるな あるよ、但し径が小さくて人気ない
    接客業はある程度までしかたないな。 化粧、成長で多分今になるだろ。。。 「接客の場でのスカート丈は膝上7センチメートルまで」「派手な爪の装飾はNG」。7月、

  58. MS Dhoni seems India’s batsmen have provided well as part-time bowlers in the insufficient a realistic all rounder inside the team.

    Although this is a change to UK Wills and intestacy that hasn’t quite made it into law yet, substantial progress has become made during 2013.

  59. Info says:

    It has the such as you examine my head! You appear to comprehension a lot relating to this, just like you submitted the e book inside it as well. I believe that you may are capable of doing with just a few delaware. h. to push the solution residence a tad, but rather than which, that is great weblog. A wonderful examine. I’m going to surely return to their office.

  60. Hello, this weekend is pleasant designed for me, since this time i am reading this impressive informative article here at my house.

  61. Tayla says:

    Hmm it looks like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely
    long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly
    enjoying your blog. I as well am an aspiring blog
    writer but I’m still new to the whole thing. Do you have any tips and hints for newbie
    blog writers? I’d certainly appreciate it.

  62. WOW just what I was searching for. Came here by searching for parkett

  63. Karl A. Lale says:

    Good day! Do you know if they make any plugins to safeguard against hackers?
    I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any recommendations?

  64. Youtube.Com says:

    First off I would like to say superb blog! I had a quick question that I’d like to ask
    if you do not mind. I was curious to know how you center yourself and clear
    your head before writing. I’ve had difficulty clearing my thoughts in getting my thoughts out.

    I truly do enjoy writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes tend
    to be lost just trying to figure out how to
    begin. Any recommendations or hints? Appreciate
    it!

  65. Thanks for ones marvelous posting! I seriously enjoyed reading it,
    you could be a great author. I will make sure to bookmark your blog and definitely will come back in the future.
    I want to encourage you continue your great work, have a nice weekend!

  66. Patrick says:

    I’m pretty pleased to discover this web site. I need to to thank you
    for ones time due to this wonderful read!! I definitely loved every little bit of it and i
    also have you saved as a favorite to look at new things in your site.

  67. You ought to be a part of a contest for one of the highest
    quality sites on the internet. I’m going to highly recommend this web site!

  68. Gas boilers says:

    Nice Post and Wonderful Shared to boiler works & boiler efficiency. Thanks author for your Cool site and outstanding article. Really I got valuable info here.

  69. Shantae says:

    Skype has established its website-centered buyer beta to the entire world, after launching
    it broadly within the U.S. and U.K. earlier this month.

    Skype for Online also now works with Chromebook and Linux for
    immediate online messaging interaction (no voice and video however, those require a connect-in installation).

    The increase of your beta brings assistance for an extended list of
    different languages to help you bolster that global usability

  70. Tederiksen says:

    Nice post. Thanks for sharing this post with readers. It will be very helpful.

  71. jualboiler says:

    thank you for the article, greetings

  72. tokomesinku says:

    thank you for the article

  73. Eloy Uyemura says:

    An interestingA fascinatingAn intriguingA motivating discussion is worthis definitely worth comment. I thinkI believeI do believeI do thinkThere’s no doubt that that you shouldthat you ought tothat you need to writepublish more onmore about this topicsubjectissuesubject matter, it might notit may not be a taboo subjectmatter but generallyusuallytypically people do notpeople don’tfolks don’t speak aboutdiscusstalk about suchthese topicssubjectsissues. To the next! CheersMany thanksAll the bestKind regardsBest wishes!!

Leave a comment