Draft proofing hinged windows and doors

When draft proofing  hinged type of windows or doors, similar principles can be used for the sides and the top of doors as with the top and bottom of sash windows. First you need some compressive foam seals, or in some cases a roll of soft polystyrene can be a cheaper solution. With the door or window open, these are fitted to the frame on the top and sides of the door or window, along with the bottom of the window frame. When doing this it is important that you cut the strip to the exact size required to provide as tight a seal as possible.

With regards to external doors, the base of the door is often the worst source of drafts following poor installation and years of wear and tear. The solution is a bristle strip, cut to the correct length and attached securely to the base of the door.

In some cases, where very large gaps are present, it may be necessary to install an aluminium strip to provide an even surface which can be used form a tight seal.

 

Finally, with regards to doors mail boxes and key holes are a source of drafts, and should be fitted with appropriate covers.

9 Responses to Draft proofing hinged windows and doors

  1. cheap fence ideas…

    […]Draft proofing hinged windows and doors « GreenNav’s Open Blog[…]…

  2. Erwin Threet says:

    How do I remove an image from my blogger sidebar?

  3. How can I use blogging to increase traffic on my website?

  4. I want to transfer to a college that focuses on English and have a good Creative Writing program. I want to major in creative writing but don’t know what college to transfer to..

  5. How do you get people to visit your blog and good blogging sites?

  6. Rickey Gnau says:

    My website is on a remote server, I have copied all the files from their remote host server. How do I now configure MAMP to see this as a local copy of wordpress so I can edit it and try out different themes. . Please help. I am pulling my hair out!.

  7. Libby Emilio says:

    Whenever I go on my computer after a few minutes (I’d say about 5) it just restarts for some reason. I’ve tried to restore my computer but can’t because it will restart before it finishes. How can i stop the restarting or reatore my computer when this is happening Someone please help.

  8. Process your jump complete. Accomplished appropriately, a bounce move will get in touch with the getting player with the midsection. Try bouncing it about three-quarters for them. This all is determined by a lot of factors.

  9. Aikon says:

    Great advices!

Leave a comment